August 21, 2009

  • Keeping Busy!


    I'm surprised it's been a month since my last post because so much has happened. Last time I posted, I had just attended the Coldplay concert with Dan and Sarah. That was a great concert that I'll definitely remember for a long time.


    That weekend (July 18-19), I went to a going away party for my
    classmates Michael and Mari. They were one of my earliest friends at Rady
    and I will miss them dearly. Returning home to Mexico City to be closer
    to family and for business opportunities. I hope to visit them in the
    next 12 months, as I've promised them that I will come by. I think I'll
    have to plan that trip for early next year.


    The following week was Comic Con week. One of my favorite weeks of the summer. Thomas decided to stay in San Diego with me, and spending time with him is always great. I also got to meet up with Russ and Brooks, who are fellow GDC volunteers with me. I had a great conversation about Twitter which I immediately implemented in the PixelActive strategy upon returning to work. Other people I saw that weekend were Dan, Sarah, Cheryl, Geoff, Mandy, Ameesh, and Tammy. I sat in a bunch of panels and was bummed that I was in a panel with an old HS classmate, Kieth, and didn't even know he was in the same panel. Some panels of note were for the Simpson's, True Blood, V, State of the Animation Industry, Fables, Marvell Animation, DC Animation. All and all, another great Con. We also ate at Lou & Mickey's as well as Nobu. They broke the bank, but were worth it one time a year.

    The other weeks were spent catching up with people around the area. A co-worker that also interned at Qualcomm last summer, playing soccer with my cousin and her husband, cooking steaks with Dan and Sarah at their new place in Ramona, networking lunches and happy hours, celebrating Adam's new arcade machine, watching Skye jam out, and a lot of running. The most recent highlight was the completion of the AFC Half Marathon where I finished in 1:45, a personal record (PR) for the course. I also completed the Triple Crown (Carlsbad Half, La Jolla Half, AFC Half), something that I wanted to complete last year but couldn't.


    The next month looks to be just as exciting as the last. I've started doing P90X, and it is kicking my butt. I hope to be in excellent shape after I finish though. Looking to potentially buy a house near the coast, and working hard for PixelActive and spending time with friends.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *