May 30, 2010

  • 6 Month Report Card

    It's been six months since January 1, 2010. Moving by fast or slow for you? I wanted to look back at how I'm doing in my goals, and try to make adjustments. As a reminder, my goals were:

     

    1. Wake up earlier that 7 am for 100 days straight. I have not been able to do this yet. I had a good streak near a month, but I fell off the wagon and had trouble getting back on. The impetus for this goal was to get better sleeping habits. Even though I am having trouble with this goal, I am sleeping earlier. I will try this again soon.

    2. Go to church once a month. Sometimes more than once. This has been an interesting goal for me. I was looking for another form of motivation in my life, and thought church would be interesting. It has been. I'm still forming my opinions, but I feel it is something that I want closer in my heart and mind moving forward.

    3. Read a book a month. 1 book read. This has been frustrating. I've started strong on a couple of books, but couldn't keep the steam to keep reading it. I get distracted reading tech news online. I got a new book that I think will do the trick. Updates to come. I can still read 6+ books this year!

    4. Learn to surf. Looking for surfboards now. Then it's off to the ocean to try not to drown. It should be great for my cross training with running. I look forward to the challenge. Going to start around the end of June, beginning of July.

    5. Learn more Chinese. Been listening to Chinese podcasts and working on pronouncing words again. Really need to get on a program to improve it instead of trying to maintain it.

     

     

    SixFlagsMagicMountainPixelActive

    Six Flags for Arnaud's (PixelActive co-worker in picture) birthday. We all took off from work on Thursday and had a blast. Rides: Goliath, Colossus (getting old), Scream, Tatsu, Terminator Salvation (fast!), Goldrusher, Batman, Flashback. X2 was closed (booooo!!!)

    Fresh Spinach noodle stir fry with red peppers and seasoned ground turkey (1)

    Got the Pasta maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer. This is a homemade spinach pasta chow mein with seasoned ground turkey, red peppers, and green onions. It's really good.

    Los Angeles Food Trucks (12)

    Kogi (LA korean taco truck) spicy pork and spare rib tacos. I liked the spicy pork more.

    Homemade noodle soup (2)

    Homemade noodle soup with

    Tabe bbq food truck (3)

    Tabe bbq, a San Diego Korean taco truck. The taco toppings were not as good at those at Kogi. The fries are underpriced at $1, but good. Aioli tastes like mayo with rooster sauce.

    2010 Carlsbad 5000 (3)

    Hyun runs her first 5k. She finished in under 30 minutes!

    IMG_2670

    Taste of Hillcrest was gastronomically delightful but stretched our stomachs. Urban Mo's pulled pork sandwich was one of my favorites.

    IMG_2638

    Rose Boa in the Jacumba wilderness. Pretty close to a nude camp community. My Aunt, Hyun, and I had a great time going through Wilderness Basics Course. Looking forward to Fall when we plan to start going again.

    IMG_2627

    Wildflowers in Anza Borrego. I can't believe it took me 30 years to go there. What a great place.

    Dan Sarah Krans

    Dan and Sarah Krans enjoy the first dance. What a great couple!

    IMG_2585

    Coffee art by the barista at Farley's East in Oakland, CA.

    IMG_2581

    Steve Wiebe, Donkey Kong World Record Holder and Start of "King of King" (awesome soundtrack!)

    IMG_2569

    Delicious Thai pork belly

    3

    Joey giving an excellent demo at the PixelActive booth during the Game Developer's Conference (GDC)

    IMG_2553

    Amazing snow crab boil at an incredible price. Too bad yelp doesn't tell you will be going to a safe neighborood.

    IMG_2538

    Rob and Evelyn on the morning of our race, Rock n' Roll Mardi Gras.We all finished about as happy.

    IMG_2487

    Some of the beautiful things you see when outside. That's a double rainbow.

    IMG_2484

    My dad enjoying the Pacific Beach view. Then he flew to Cincinnati.

    IMG_2448

    The new young family. She was pregnant, but not really showing. Bryce Benjamin Young born May 4, 2010

    2009-12-20 002

    Erin and Alex Kozlowski's Pirate Bar hopping.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *