July 18, 2009

  • Coldplay and a Head of Steam

    July has been flying by but includes some notable events that I found extremely rewarding. At work, I’ve been able to get a handle of my tasks and am slowly making my way through them. Things feel much less chaotic, and more manageable. That’s not to say that everything is easy. I’ve work at so many small companies and start-ups, that the feeling to doing so many different things while still keeping your head level on marketing and strategy don’t feel awkward. I’m working on some exciting campaigns in the next quarter, and am thoroughly excited.

    Outside of work, there are some small business ventures that I’m looking into that I think will be rewarding and fun.

    On to the more interesting things. So Tuesday night I was chatting with @camelgod about Coldplay and he mentioned that Live Nation was running a promotion for $29 tickets without a service charge. On top of that, they were giving out vouchers for free hot dogs and a drink. I had seen Coldplay once before at Coachella, and really enjoyed it. The opportunity to see them again for $29 was too good to pass up. We chatted until midnight, after which point I got the tickets for us. The next day, @supercute11 cleared her schedule and was planning to attend the show with us.

    The show lived up to be as great as the last one I attended. Chris Martin has the ability to be silly, charismatic, and authentic at the same time. I think that lends to their success. Small adventure in getting our free hot dogs. We waited in line for 30-45 minutes and by the time we got to the window, they were sold out. We promptly ran to another kiosk and was fortunate enough to have another patron allow us to piggyback on their order. With hot dog in hand, we went and enjoyed the show. A couple memorable events from that evening include the song Yellow, where they released several dozen large (4 feet diameter) yellow balloons into the crowd. They also played on two super small stages within the crowd. one halfway up, the second in the lawn section. They topped off their lawn performance with a cover of Billie Jean.

    Thanks for reading, and I hope to keep Em posting as we start our partnership!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *