January 8, 2009

  • Vista Woes


    So it’s been an exciting end of year. I suppose this post should have been written last week during 2008, but I’m still making it within the 2008 window (IMO). The year ended with a bang. After my finals, Karin and I packed up and moved from Las Flores apartment complex in La Jolla back to Poway. There were many reasons for the move, but I believe the most important factor was finances. Marley also enjoys having his own yard to play in and the reduction in driving between two living areas also helps.

    Immediately after moving, I started working full time at PixelActive until Christmas. That reduced my ability to unpack, and I still have boxes laying around with stuff that needs to be unpacked, sold, donated, and otherwise. It’s quite a mess here, and the year is already taking off on us.

    Christmas Eve was spent with the Karin’s family, where we enjoyed a meal prepared by Karin’s sister and boyfriend, Stacy and Carlos. Marley got a new toy for Christmas, which he proceeded to immediately play with. I got some convenient gift cards, and am thankful for all the kindness of friends during the holidays.

    I was able to carry on the “Uncle Billy” gifts for the Mosses. Unfortunately, I arrived a bit late, and everyone left shortly afterwards. My dad was here for Christmas, and we got to enjoy a meal at home. Something I haven’t had in a while mostly because of me going over to a friend’s house.

    After Christmas, my brother flew in town and we took off to Mammoth Mountain the following Monday. We ended up renting a Hummer H3, which resulted in a fun ride for the first couple of hours. After realizing that it isn’t built to seat 5 people for long rides, the remainder of the drive was mediocre. Getting on the mountains again was a blast after being away for so long. My brother was right to start the initiative in winter ski trips again. I think I’ll enjoy it significantly more next year when I’m not going to school/working/going crazy. I was able to ski this trip as well, with my brother renting some skiis to ride with his wife. Being on skiis after snowboarding for 10 years is quite an experience. But it really is like riding a bike. Once the muscle memory is there, you never forget it.

    Back to the title of the post. Since returning, my brother asked me to get a computer working for him and Hiedi. Both of their computers are hosed with crap right now, and getting them up and running is a priority. I took the initiative to install Vista on my Macbook Pro, and that has lead to all kinds of problems. Oh man. I hate it. Makes me want to go back to a big company (like QCOM) where you can call someone up and they fix all your computer problems. It really is quite nice.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *